Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance learning from the Internet rather than teachers in the classroom. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Obtaining qualifications through online education without actually sitting in a traditional classroom has surged in popularity with the development of communication technologies and has probably become the new normal during the COVID pandemic when most people have to stay at home for an extended period of time. Personally, I believe this is a positive development that brings more benefits than drawbacks. To start with the positives, distance education contributes to educational equality by increasing the availability of quality education to a wider range of individuals. Online courses have an unprecedented big capacity of enrolment and are generally more affordable than conventional on-campus courses that contribute to higher overheads, so more students, especially those living in poverty, could afford to pursue university or college qualifications. This is the same with students with mobility difficulties, who now have more freedom to choose and learn subjects and skills they prefer rather than being deprived of opportunities due to their inability to attend courses on campus. Flexibility is another prominent advantage of gaining qualifications through distance education. Unlike traditional education, students who attend online courses are generally offered recorded lessons and other learning resources for them to learn or revise at their own pace without the restrictions of time and space. Nevertheless, there are concerns over this shift towards online education. The most obvious one is the lack of authentic social interactions that feature conventional face-to-face education, meaning that students cannot gain instant feedback and improve effectiveness through communication with peers and teachers like they would normally do in a traditional classroom. This lack of peer communication might also lead to declined motivation of learners who would traditionally encourage or compete with each other to excel. These disadvantages, however, can be compensated for by providing online forums for discussing and asking questions and setting up assignments and checkpoints to hold learners accountable. In conclusion, despite the less interactive and motivating learning environment, I would argue that providing qualifications through distance education is a beneficial trend considering how it promotes education justification with its availability and flexibility, which are quite restricted in traditional classrooms.