In today's world, private companies rather than the government pay for and conduct most scientific research. Do you think the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Currently, scientific research has always been a topic of interest. It is argued that nowadays private companies pay for conducting most scientific research rather than the government. While this thinking is valid to some extent, I would believe that it may do more good than harm. There are a wealth of advantages that can be broad by the private company investment in scientific research because they can assist the financial burden of the state’s coffer. The government has to invest money in a lot of aspects like education or healthcare which are the backbone industry. So if the private companies lend a hand, the authorities will reduce the amount of money for investing in scientific analysis and other areas can be invested in better quality. For example, if technology is a priority investment, fewer people drop out of school and more patients are able be cured. As a result, with the financial support of private companies, the government can avoid coffer’s deficit. While the advantage of the private company’s support in scientific research, the disadvantage still lingers. In terms of private companies conducting such research, they are more predisposed to financial incentives. In other words, they are primarily driven to boost profits. They require the public to pay a prohibitively exorbitant price for being accessible to their resultant products in order to cover their expenses and ensure companies ’ revenue. For instance, imagine vaccines resistant to Covid-9 such as AstraZeneca or Moderna are produced by private companies. These vaccines will no longer be offered free to everyone like right now. So companies can take advantage of research to maximize their profits and harm society. In conclusion, private investment in and conduct of scientific research may result in several advantages, however they still have undesirable consequences.