Some say that it would be better if the majority of employees worked from home instead of traveling to a workplace every day. Do you think the advantages of working from home outweigh the disadvantages?

Several people think most workers should do their jobs from their domestic dwellings rather than commuting daily to their public employment locations. This essay argues that doing this would cause more harm than good hence the cons override the pros. It juxtaposes challenges of working from homes such as reduced concentration and consequently output and the costs of setting up home offices, against the benefits inclusive of a relaxed homely atmosphere. Working from home results in reduced concentration and performance. This is due to constant distractions, for example, from children and the television, which sees employees forced to attend to domestic demands during work time. A recent Newspaper report in Hong Kong report claimed that many companies were losing revenue during the Covid-19 lockdowns because of employees that spent time attending to domestic chores during working hours. Secondly, working from home means expending more resources to buy job equipment and set up internet connections. Institutional expenditures are already high enough for companies, what more when the workspace is shifted to homes, which may be located in unfavourable places. BBC Africa highlighted in 2020 how many workers in most African countries had to bear the expenses of establishing workspace which resultantly choked their budgets. On the other hand, doing company tasks from the domestic scene allows the working class to be in their favourite relaxed atmospheres while pursuing their duties. The foregoing, to a certain extent, can aid individual efficiency but not when there are disturbances or domestic conflict. For instance, in the same BBC Africa 2020 report, it is argued that a majority of the female employees became drastically inefficient because of domestic abuse woes in the continent. In conclusion, working from residential spheres has its notable advantages like the relaxed functional environments, but these don’t outweigh the disadvantages, like reduced concentration/output and increased costs of setting up a domestic office. Going to work remains a better option.