Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Over a century, the amount of rubbish has considerably increased especially trash from households and offices even though some of them can be used again. Therefore, some suggest that the national government should enforce regulations compelling citizens to do more recycling in order to reduce the amount of litter. I am convinced with this idea and I will explain the reasons in the essay below. On one hand, some believe, instead of law enforcement, we should focus on educating all citizens about what are the benefits of reusing and how to do it properly without any detrimental consequence. This method will encourage them to do it by their own accords and the only duty of administrations is providing. For instance, these days many individuals try to reuse things than before since they have more awareness and comprehension about the negative effects of over-rubbish. On the flip side, other populations including me consider that serious law should be adopted to force residents to do reusing due to the fact that it can see a result faster. For example, if there is a strict regulation about recycling, the majority of people have to recycle automatically otherwise they will break the rules. Conversely, educating people, or doing campaigns, takes a longer time than having serious rules does because there will be some folks who do not willing to recycle. To conclude, there are two controversies of this problem whether law enforcement should be involved or not. However, from my perspective, adopting strict laws is a more effective measure since its result can be seen instantly.