Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what etent do you agree or disagree? what measures do you think might be effective?

It is believed by some people that by raising the price of fuel, ever-increasing issues of traffic congestion and the associated pollution can be handled effectively. However, I do not consider that this is the most effective way out. To solve this problem, the government and individuals should work collaboratively in such a way that the general public is not forced to bear the financial burden. Undoubtedly, hiking the price of petrol may appear as a quick solution for the pollution problem, but there are many drawbacks of using this method. Because, in that condition, common people will have to bear this cost because usage of private cars can not be avoided in many circumstances such as grocery shopping or pick and drop off children. Besides that, sometimes individuals are bound to visit some regions where public transport are not feasible to use. Therefore, hiking the cost of fuel will not tackle this issue of growing traffic volume and pollution. With regard to other alternatives, first of all, the government should take initiatives in terms of imposing strict rules to regulate the flow of traffic on roads. For this, even and odd number cars can be allowed alternatively. In India, for instance, this scheme has been successfully implemented for the last few years. Outcomes of surveys reveal the fact that people have been cooperating with the authorities and at the same time they have been enjoying commuting with their colleagues by using the carpooling scheme. Also, this plan has dropped the pollution in many cities to a greater extent. in conclusion, I would strongly recommend that higher authorities and common people can effectively face this problem of traffic and carbon emission more effectively by some efficient ways as compared to by hiking the costs of fuels.