Some of the methods used in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today’s society. To what extent do you agree with this view?

With the advent of new technology, advertisements have become an indispensable part of people's lives. There is a notion that companies use immoral and inappropriate methods in their adverts to make more money. I agree to a great extent with this point of view and the two pivotal reasons for my belief will be thoroughly discussed in the following lines. To commence with, some advertising agencies use unacceptable approaches for younger generations because they are easily influenced. Cigarettes are being promoted in an unethical way especially for youngsters who would like to try smoking for the first time. This is exemplified by Canada which is one of the countries that have banned displays of cigarettes at points of sales. Despite the fact that smoking has colossal damages to health, it is still being promoted in many countries. To fortify further, ads have recently been designed and directed towards children as well. A plethora of fast-food restaurants made commercials that depicted a happy child enjoying his meal and getting a free toy. This kind of advertisement prompt many children to force their parents to get these meals. Hence, the USA, for instance, has a rising percentage of obesity among its offspring because of fast meals. Promoting agencies tend to increase sales by making such deceptive ads. To recapitulate, I reiterate that many advertising institutions promote their products by showing the brighter side only. Young generations are the most vulnerable to be deceived by these promotions. This kind of deception has detrimental impacts on families and society.