The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000, there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on the British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws should be introduced to control car ownership and use. What are your views on this issue?

From 1888 to 2000, an incredible incline had been witnessed in the number of cars on British Road. It appears to me that ruling authorities are required to provide stimulation to the use of other forms of transportation along with introducing some global laws to curb the usage and possession of this vehicle, in particular, considering the following aspects. Automobiles are the major contributor to environmental pollution for ages. As these are run on fossil fuel which results in exhaustion of toxic gases in the air, continuous use of such vehicles will eventually contaminate the fresh air if not used in a controlled and regulated manner. This, therefore, brings forth fat health hazards such as asthma, lung infection, and other respiratory ailments for the next generation. Thus, it is necessary to instead of using more cars, people should be encouraged to commute through public transport, for example, buses and trains so that lesser amount of venomous gases is released into the environment For the afore-mentioned practice to be implemented, the most suitable approach is to enforce some international constitution restricting car possession and its use. When new rules and regulations are imposed, people are more likely to follow these because of the orders of higher authorities; on the contrary, without such regulation, it becomes challenging to motivate each individual to buy or even drive a lesser number of cars. To prove this, the case of Delhi can be taken where odd and even number four-wheelers are only allowed to drive on alternate days which has significantly improved the environmental condition over there. To conclude, it can be reiterated that for the benefits of humans as well as mother nature public transport should be encouraged and to make it happen, enforcement of the order is mandatory.