Some people believe that schools should choose their student according to their abilities. While other people think students with different abilities should learn together. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about whether schools should select students according to their abilities or different abilities students learn together. In my view, students with different abilities should attend the same school but should be divided into different classes. On the one hand, there are two main advantages in terms of schools choosing their students with their own criteria. Firstly, schools can design unified teaching methods for students with similar abilities, which will help schools improve their efficiency. For example, if schools choose students with good foundations, they can focus more on the teaching of advanced knowledge rather than basic knowledge. Another merit is that it will be more convenient for students to communicate and discuss their studies with classmates as they have the same level, which can promote each other. However, opponents agree that students with different abilities have more advantages in learning together. First, studying with learners of different abilities, students can exchange various skills. For instance, academic students could learn some practical skills from their classmates. Besides, facing students with different abilities, teachers can receive different responses from students on a special question, which could assist them to improve their teaching method. In my opinion, schools should include students of different abilities and divide them into different classes according to their abilities. First of all, in this way, we can ensure that students have the right to receive an equal education. Second, teachers could design their teaching methods and goals according to different classes, making their teaching more systematic and consistent. In a nutshell, although both views have their own virtues, it is not enough. I believe that we should not only emphasise students abilities, but should also pay attention to educational equity.