The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experiences.

The issue of long working weeks has been a subject of debate in recent times. The citizens of almost many countries appeal to the government for shorter working weeks and longer weekends. I strongly agree with this statement that the workdays should be reduced to less number of days and that people should get longer day off. The shorter working week can increase productivity, reduce stress, and give time to pursue personal interests. Let us discuss it in detail in the coming paragraphs. To begin with, let us shed light on the benefits of having a shorter working week. First and foremost, it can increase productivity. To elaborate, employees may feel more refreshed and motivated after a long week of rest, ultimately improving work quality and efficiency. To exemplify, a research conducted by Macquarie University in May 2018, in Australia on 50 people between the age of 30 to 50 years different professionals ranging from doctors, teachers, and engineers revealed that 85 per cent of them felt highly productive and refreshed due to working only 3 to 4 days a week. Furthermore, long weekends give extra free time to individuals to pursue other things to tackle stress and depression caused by the high demands of work. To clarify, due to the additional time they can work on their personal interests, spend time with family, and achieve a better work -life balance. Additionally, companies could attract more talent, especially younger generations who prioritize flexibility and lifestyle over financial incentives and prefer their life to be less stressful by doing the things they love to do the most. For example, many health professionals suggest developing a hobby or spending quality time with loved ones to reduce work stress. To encapsulate, it can be concluded that working for less number of days can enhance the individual's effectiveness of work and people can also spend time with family which is also a stress buster for many and I agree with the fact that longer weekends give overall job satisfaction and mental health.