Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

From the time of Abacus to the invention of the first electrical computer(ENIAC) and all the way to the present age,where the likes of AI (Artificial Intelligence) are beginning to take a toll around the globe,the computing industry or to be more precise- computers - have undergone great lengths of development.People may be surprised to find out that they carry literally everything around in their pockets.From cameras to mp3 speakers;to PDA's and recorders.You name it, almost anything man could think of.In my opinion, I strongly agree that computing technologies are the most incredible things man has ever created,as far as humans are involved. To begin with,in the days of old,our forefathers normally used counting equipment such as: Abacus and the slide rule,but then came the ENIAC(Electronic Numeric Integrator Automated Circuit) and EDVAC (Electronic Discrete Variable Automated Computer)machines. This powerful computers serve as the calculators of those days(late '90s) and could even perform more than their Abacus and slide rule counterparts.A mere look into the meanings of their names is more than enough to convince you that it is truly a spectacle to behold. A few years later,we see the rise of new computers, which were smaller in size and could perform even greater calculations.It is at this time that the modern commercial calculators were invented,which used a different system in storing variables, and was much more lighter to carry around. This was another wonderful creation and produced a new generation of computers.The Nasa company for instance, used this computers to convey the first men to the moon,which posed a great step to mankind. Furthermore,as the years went by, more and more advancements were made,which produced the first ever PC's(Personal Computers) we have today.The digital cameras, PDA's, and most of all- mobile phones-, were later introduced,which had better qualities in terms of storage capacity,processing capacity and lots more. For example, the supercomputerscomputers,which at present rule the computing industry and internet.These are known to be the fourth generation of computers. To add to this, the true nature of man's abilities came forth,when AI was made.These powerful machines, are created in such a way that it uses complex algorithms to carry out instructions.They are still undergoing work, and are known as the fifth generation of computers. In summary, computers have achieved great feats of success throughout the past century and without them,it would be hard to think of where we will be at present.Probably in the future, the whole world will be integrated with IT(Information Technology) systems.