People from cities go to university more often than those who live in the country. Some people think that the government should make it easier to enter universities for people who live outside of cities and towns by setting lower entry requirements and tuition fees. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Education has become more important which ensures one gets a high-paying job and improves the quality of life. However, students from the countryside have a lower college admission rate than those from the cities. As a result, some suggested that the government should lower the entry requirements as well as the tuition fees so those who live outside of cities can also get a college education. I believe that the major obstacle that stops people from the country from having further schooling is the financial burden rather than their study ability. It is true that if a college lowers its admission standard, more students can receive a college education. However, unfortunately, that doesn't mean all of them can graduate with a bachelor’s degree. The enrollment requirements were set in order to secure the excellent academic standard of a school, especially for subjects like, psychology and engineering, which require higher academic performance. As a result, lowering the enrollment requirements only can higher the admission rate for people from the country but doesn't help them to solve their problems. Wealth inequality is the major cause of the population from rural areas having a low college enrollment rate. Therefore, in my opinion, providing financial aid and subsidies for those households is a better solution. Families living in rural regions usually have low incomes but the college expenses are high; thus, even if their children have great academic performance, families cannot afford them to continue with their learning. By giving these families financial support, talented children can continue with their education so they can learn skills and knowledge, and get a high pay job in the future. Furthermore, these children can bring those back to their original city and improve the living standard there. In conclusion, there are many talented students who live in the country who do not get higher education due to poverty. As a result, from my point of view, giving them money support is the most productive way to fight this problem.