In many parts of the world, children and teenagers are committing more crimes. What are the causes? How should these young criminals be punished?

In recent years, crimes in adolescence have become a growing problem as there is an increasing number of juveniles committing an offence. This essay will outline justifications for these and suggest some feasible solutions. There are several explanations for the trend of young crimes, some of which involve the lack of parental care and the negative impact of social media platforms. As the former, parents have a tendency to focus on their full-time jobs, therefore they do not take care of their children. If parents failed to guide their emotional children, their teenagers would find other sources of care, which lead to the higher chance of meeting evil peers. The second driving factor of this issue is the media coverage of violence, drugs, and sexual harassment. This news could overwhelm children and accumulate their curiosity. Since they want to know what these crimes are, they would do it by themselves, and then they would commit an offence. To combat this issue, punishment should be made due to the level of crimes. Young people who are physically and mentally immature should not be put in prison. This is because they would have to survive in a hostile prison environment with old prisoners, therefore they could not focus on changing their wrong thinking and behavior. Teenagers who commit minor crimes like pickpockets should be put into rehabilitation to be trained important skills, such as money management, communication skills, etc. However, young people who commit severe crimes, including murder, rape, terrorism,... should be sentenced in prison or even having capital punishment. These harsh punishments would be a great warning for potential criminals, since they would be terrified and not have the idea of committing an offence. In conclusion, the increasing number of young criminals results from the absence of parental attention as well as negative impacts of social media. The possible solution to overcome this issue is that government should carry out punishment according to the severity of crime.