Some people argue that the most effective way to improve public health is to increase the number of sports facilities. Others, however, believe that this has little effect and that other measures are required. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In many countries, policymakers are debating the most effective measures to enhance public health. While some contend that sports centres can improve well-being more than other measures, others claim that additional measures are required to address this issue. This essay will discuss both perspectives and explain why the latter viewpoint is more convincing. On the one hand, proponents of sports facilities argue that sports venues encourage people to become more physically active. They emphasise that an entire population would take up regular exercise if facilities, such as gyms, stadiums, and swimming pools, are available at affordable prices. For example, Singapore's government has invested heavily in gyms, making them accessible to citizens, encouraging more frequent exercise. Moreover, sporting activities foster social interaction, which makes people more committed and eager to exercise on a daily basis, enhancing their physical and mental health. On the other hand, critics point out that recreation centres alone are not sufficient on a larger scale. To illustrate this, some people have poor lifestyle habits, including unhealthy diets, long working hours, and car dependency, which require intervention. Awareness campaigns can educate residents about the risks of neglecting health and, in turn, encourage individuals to work out, eat healthily, and make healthier choices related to their overall well-being. For instance, a 2023 study in the USA showed that despite the availability of countless gyms, soaring obesity rates persisted. Therefore, governments, communities, and individuals should act collectively to improve public health. To conclude, although sports venues can encourage residents to become more active, I am convinced that sports facilities are not adequate to tackle a widespread challenge. Well-planned strategies can discourage people not only from adopting a sedentary lifestyle but also from having poor nutrition.