In some countries, owing a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

It is true that in several countries, people prefer purchasing a house for themselves to renting one. There are some reasons aside from that and will be discussed later in this writing. Personally, I believe that its downside outweighs the benefits. To begin, it is undeniable that living in an owned house can bring the feeling of being safe and stable and raise confidence as people are fearless of being kicked out of their homes. In addition, buying a house can also be a measurement of people ’s success. For instance, in Eastern culture, people are always admired for owning a variety of valuable assets in which real estate is one of the most desirable ones. Therefore, it is understanding why people are craving for having a house for themselves. However, buying a house is never an easy thing to do. In recent years, in most countries, real estate is becoming more and more pricey and unaffordable for the majority of residents, especially for the young people in megacities. The target of owning a home may create intangible pressure and a heavy burden on them. This will lead to many negative impacts, such as being stressed, a money-driven lifestyle and even depression. The worst consequence is that more people have been being overwhelmed, hopeless and distressed these days. In conclusion, I agree that it is better to own a home, nonetheless, it should not be a must in life. Alternatively, people should focus on other life purposes, for example, personal development, job satisfaction, work/life balance etc…, in order to live healthier and happier.