More and more plastic is polluting cities, countryside and oceans. What are the problems caused by plastic waste? What measures should be taken to solve it? (Ulvi)

Today, plastic has contaminated different areas more than in the past. This essay will explore the problems raised by plastic pollutants and try to find solutions to tackle these issues. First of all, plastic waste can cause the loss of biodiversity. To elaborate, after some time it creates poisonous cheamicals under the soil and these chemicals have detrimental impact on plants. Some plants, especially endangered species, extinct due to toxic substances. For instance, in countries like Indonesia and the Philippines, mangrove forests are facing decline because of the growing amount of plastic waste accumulating in coastal zones. To address this problem governments should take measures. They can limit the use of this type of pollutants or they can fine people who pollute the nature. Another serious issue stemming from plastic litter is economic damages for the tourism industry. In most cases, people prefer to visit clean destinations. If some places are filled with plastic, tourists will not go to these countries, as a result there will be decrease in the tourism economy. For example, in the Maldives, one of the popular touristic destinations, plastic pollution has caused some tourists to give up their trips, which has hurt the reputation of local resorts and led to fewer visitors. To combat this problem, governments and charities should raise awareness of people with the organizing some projects. They can organzie organise some events which show the impact of plastic wastes on economy. In conclusion, taking all the aforementioned points into account, plastic litter can bring about some problems, such as the destruction of plants and negative consequences for economy and governments can solve these problems with some punishments or social events.