Scientific research can be the most effective when done by private companies. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Most technologies we are using today are based and developed from scientific researches. Some believe that these studies will be more powerful when they are done by profit-oriented private companies. I will explain why I’m fully against this idea in this essay. Scientific researches do not always have potential payback. For example, the law of gravity, which is discovered by newton with his passion and interest in nature, has never made a single penny. For that reason, private companies are not likely to invest in monitoring stars for decades before a single natural law comes out. In a word, scientific researches are always interest-driven, not money-driven, and meant to find a norm of nature. Moreover, whether research is effective depends on its importance, not how much money it can make or who developed it. For instance, those well-known theories and laws, such as maxwell’s equations, relativity theory, e.g., are effective because they explain how the cosmos is working. Technical researches are based on the law of how things work and thus make a usable product. So, whether research is done by a private company is not associated with its effectiveness. To sum up, scientific researches are always universal, which makes it not that ‘efficient’ to invest in a private company or group that specializes in a particular field. So on one hand, these researches are usually done by non-profit organizations, such as universities. On the other hand, whether it is effective is none of the business to who did it, but what it is.