These days people work in more than one job, and often change career several times during their life. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays individuals are employed in many places and continuously shift careers in their life-course. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this like increased organisational exposure and reduced opportunities for promotion. To begin with, the benefits of jumping between jobs and being hired in more than one place at a time include being exposed to different work cultures and the chance to make more income. First, with more than a single workstation, a person can learn many working environments and be able to deal with plenty of demanding scenarios that are good for their curriculum vitae. Secondly, the more the jobs, the more the money; as a matter of fact, some people doing this practice do it for raising their net salary gains. For example, the USA is a known location where 90 per cent of the immigrants are involved with more than a single employer solely for monetary purposes. On the contrary, however, working in several locations has its own disadvantages exemplified by less promotional prospects and the upsurge of pressure on the given workers. Many recruiting departments usually consider the candidate's length of stay and titles held in a particular company before considering them for higher positions. But those with one foot in and one foot out usually remain for short periods and hold insignificant job titles which limits their chances of getting the top jobs of companies. Furthermore, the employees in this situation tend to be under a lot of pressure and suffer from massive stress from the expectations coming from multiple directions. For instance, the immigrants in the USA were recently reported to be the most stressed population in the country owing to the multiplicity of their professional engagements. In summary, employment in multiple stations has pros such as a wider experience and exposure but also has cons like increases in required employee tasks and lesser prospects for making professional headway. These issues have been discussed in the essay above.