Establishing good relationships in the workplace is not important, as the primary goal of every person is to focus on work.

It is commonly argued that the main objective and purpose of every employee is to focus on their work and to perform the best they can, as being on good terms with colleagues is not necessary. In my view, these two goals are not mutually exclusive. I think that being productive at work is more important than trying to befriend all colleagues, although I would concede it would be advantageous to have at least a few friends in the workplace. Maintaining good relations with all co-workers is often hard and even counter-productive. That is to say, it can be very emotionally demanding to forge friendships in the office as it can be difficult to accommodate every colleague’s needs and interests. In my view, for example, it is often wiser to eschew the niceties of interaction in favour of productivity. The reason for this is obvious, if all people were trying to build good relationships with everyone in their workplace, this would mean considerably less time to actually work That being said, there are many compelling reasons to get closer to our colleagues. For one thing, it is very beneficial to establish cordial relationships with those who surround you in the workplace. For example, many full-time employees spend more of their waking hours with co-workers than they do with their families and if you are single, your work may be the only place to interact with human beings at all. In conclusion, in my opinion, it is important to find and maintain a healthy balance between being productive at work and forming social bonds. Making friends is beneficial, especially considering the amount of time most people spend at work, however, this must not be offset at the cost of our personal productivity.