More and more people want to buy clothes, cars and other items with famous brands. What are the reasons? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

The notion of purchasing branded items like clothes, cars, and accessories is ubiquitous today which became a norm with the sudden boom in fashion and technology from the early millennium. In this essay, I will discuss my reasons as to why people show more fascination towards these and present my final view on them. Firstly, both fashion and technology today is considered a measure of one's superiority over the other and thus seen as a status symbol. Some people tend to validate their vanity by buying expensive things that might not even be useful which in turn adds to the carbon footprint. One of the greatest disadvantages is that the interest in buying branded items makes you ignore factors like affordability and the worthiness of the product. Thoughtless purchases are always a bad thing irrespective of the product people buy. While there are many negatives to buying popular items, they are often based on a person's mindset. There are many people who buy these items by carefully investing in them. While most of the famous brands cost is actually the cost of the brand rather than the product itself, there are some brands that are actually the opposite. Therefore, spending on those with careful thought might actually be more worthy. For example, there was a scene in a recent movie where the protagonist buys a business class ticket despite being poor to just catch-free time with an investor. In conclusion, it depends on the individual choice to invest that money are not. In order to be seen as different in the crowd, it may be appropriate to buy it. I agree with the positives.