Some people believe that we cannot learn anything from the past for our life today, while others believe that history is a valuable source of information to understand human’s life. Discuss both views and give your opinion.Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is true that some traditional value could be out of date and incompatible with today’s world. However, I do not believe that all the information accumulated from the past is completely useless. It is undeniable that some experience experiences and ideas are old-fashioned that become have become irrelevant to our present life. For example, the definition of a good woman nowadays is very different from the old-time old times. Traditionally, an ideal woman is to become a housewife. She should stay at home, do chores, cook and look after her children. And most importantly, she must obey her husband. Females in the past were therfore therefore forced to sacrifise sacrifice their education, career and even personal will. Compared to today, thanks to the contribution of equal rights movements, women now have the equal social position and opportunities as men do from in every aspect. The traditional criteria for females are nearly abandoned in most developed countries. In spite of the example given above, I believe there are is some significant information from the history that is useful for our life today. From a personal perspective, history could help individuals have the ability to analyze some formal problems we face today, like to clear solve the controversy of international political issues. We can only distinguish the information released by manipulated media and find the truth if we understand what happend happened before. On a broader societal level, history is a great reference for governments deciding what measures to take in order to rule the countries well. For example, we can learn from the history that imposing heavy taxes could possibly trigger citizens’ rebellion. In conclusion, I agree with the idea that we can learn much from the history and we should not dismiss all the information from the past.