some people think that the best way to solve global environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Nowadays, the upward trend of fuel consumption is one of the main reasons for environmental degradation. Some individuals believe that the price of fuel should be increased to tackle this problem. Although I agree with this opinion, I think that the increasing rate of fuel cost would also have negative effects on society. On the one hand, raising the price of fuel will be far beneficial. According to this, many people would avoid driving their own cars since they will not be able to afford the high cost of fuel. Besides, they will be motivated to take more public transportation instead of their private cars, resulting in decreasing the heavy traffics. Therefore, the lower consumption of fuel will improve the quality of air, reducing many health problems. For instance, many people have died annually as a result of lung cancer and respiratory diseases that are caused by air pollution. on the other hand, increasing the fuel cost would have many drawbacks. Firstly, the public transportation cost will be escalated due to the expensive fuel. Secondly, the transportation expenses for businesses would also be raised. In such cases, companies will be forced to increase the prices of their products to compensate for these high expenses. Thus, people would be burdened with higher living costs. If the government can control these increasing rates of transportation and goods, the solution of high fuel prices would be more advantaged. In conclusion, while increasing the fuel cost could place many people under the pressure of difficult economic situations, I agree that it is vital for solving environmental problems.