In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Caring for aged people has often been the responsibility of the government. However, some people believe this responsibility should fall on their families. This essay believes that both the government and the families of aged people should be responsible for them. This essay will discuss, how the government and families of elderly people can support one another to finance homecare stay for them. The government can work with the families of elderly people by encouraging them to make certain donations towards the care of their elderly. For instance, this can be a monthly contribution or a lump sum payment annually to aid the authorities in paying for home care for the elderly. This was the approach that was used from my home country as there were no funds set aside by the government to cater for the elderly. In addition, The government can increase tax-paying citizens which can be diverted towards providing homecare for aged people. This was an approach that was implemented in of the states in my home country because they did not approve of families making contributions towards the support of aged people. However, this method did not pass legislation but it can be a method to aid the authorities in supporting the elderly. In Summary, the care of the elderly should be the responsibility of both the government and their families because the government can take so much on, hence, the support provided by the families of the elderly will go a long way and ensure that care is been provided to the elderly people.