Around the world, many adults are working from home, and more children are beginning to study from home because technology has become cheaper and more accessible. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

There are new practices in which grown-ups are able to work from home and students are studying online due to the affordability and availability of technology. This essay believes that these phenomena should be seen as a positive improvement because they enable employees to be more productive and students to have more choices of schools. Firstly, the new way of remote working allows people to finish their tasks efficiently. This is because by working at home, they do not need time to commute and they can just start doing their job as early as possible. This will allow them to be more productive during their eight hours of working without having to spend some of their energy on the road. For example, many employees in Jakarta come from satellite cities, they have to spend up to 2 hours each day to reach their office. These long hours can drain their energy before even start to check their work. Secondly, many schools now offer online learning to the public without limiting where they reside. This enables children to have more choices to pick the best schools in the country to continue their education. In a traditional way, pupils decide to enrol in the nearby school because it will be a hassle if they have to go to the far one. This also causes inconvenience to their parents to lift them up each day. However, not every institution has the same quality of education. Therefore, online teaching will provide better choices for them and for their future. For instance, many well-known private schools in Surabaya offer remote teaching by Zoom and still serve the best quality of educating their students. In conclusion, remote working and online learning should be seen as a positive development because it allows efficient working experiences and provides wider options for the best schools.