Some governments spend a lot of public money training individuals to be successful in international sporting events. Some people believe that this money should be spent on things that will benefit the general public instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a known fact that every country is proud of its accolades in international sports contests. But, few countries use the taxpayers money to nurture sportspersons so that they can excel at global games like the Olympics. There is a faction of people that feel this expenditure would be better spent on areas that would help the common man. I completely agree that it would be more beneficial for a nation to spend on the issues that would improve the lives of its citizens. On one hand, to train an athlete well, authorities hire world-class fitness trainers as well as coaches. Moreover, they build various expensive facilities for the players. Many times, this expenditure does notculminate in good results. In addition to that, even if the sportsperson wins, they are benefited and the common public is in no way better. This is where the money spent on nurturing the player could be used to feed many hungry stomachs. For example, the expenditure made by India for the Olympics was not fruitful even though world-class training was provided to the athletes. On the other hand, international events are where a nation can showcase the talent it possesses. There is a recognition bestowed upon countries that do well in international sports. Moreover, by building world-class infrastructure for training the athletes, the government can promote tourism. For example, tourism to Japan increased as Tokyo was hosting the Olympics for the year 2020. In conclusion, we see how the money spent on international sporting events are better utilized for the betterment of the common public of a nation.