Some people think the news has no connection to people's lives, so then it is a waste of time to read the news in the newspaper and watch television news programs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

News consumption has become increasingly uncommon amongst today's generation. These people claim that reading newspapers and watching the media on television is a total waste of their valuable time. Many believe that it has nothing to do with their lives. This essay somewhat disagrees with this statement as to become a better citizen, it has become crucial nowadays to be up to date with what is happening in a nation. To begin with, audiences do not resonate with the content available on major communication mediums like newspapers and television. Because media providers display irrelevant rumours and, people tend to lose their interest and ultimately they see it as a wastage of time. It is the responsibility of providers to broadcast only important and urgent messages. For Instance, recent research discovered that these industries are money minded and tend to focus on their TRP growth, statistics found that 78% of the population avoid consuming news. On the other hand, Avoiding broadcast completely is not an optimal decision, as it is a prime source of knowledge. It is awareness, which makes a person a better citizen of a nation, and it ultimately contributes, toward the overall development of a country. However, there is a need to become a responsible consumer, while looking up the news. Also, research showed that many who have been reading newspapers, have a better command of the language and tend to make better life decisions. In conclusion, citizens should not completely avoid the consumption of news, as it increases awareness and knowledge.