Climate change is one of the biggest environmental problems of the 21st century. Some people think that humans should stop using oil, gas, and coal and switch to alternative energy resources, such as wind and solar power. Others claim that fossil fuels are essential for many industries, and not using them will result in economic recessions. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the 21st century, one of the detrimental issues in the environment is climate change. Many proponents argue that humans should cut off the use of non-renewable energy and change to greener energy, while others believe that fossil fuels are a lucrative thing for industries. This essay will discuss both perspectives before conveying personal opinions. On one hand, many people contend that it is better to switch from non-renewable energy sources to renewable ones due to their impact on reducing gas emissions and sustainability. Greenhouse gases are highly produced by coal and diesel, making the earth suffer from unstable weather conditions and higher sea levels. Hence, it is an ingenious action, if people try to find other environmentally friendly alternatives to prevent continuing negative development, for example, using solar or wind power. Moreover, these sustainable energies are unlimited and can be found in every part of the world. On the other hand, the opponents claim that industry still depends on fossil fuels because of the energy conversion rate. Fossil-based power plants are relatively more efficient compared to conventional renewable energy, such as solar and wind power. Although they are free to harvest, it needs advanced technology and a massive location to install the power plant to fulfil the daily needs of industry and households. Consequently, it will increase the operational and maintenance budget. Moreover, this rise in the budget could affect the price of an industry’s product and lead to chaos in the trading sector. In conclusion, the proponents might think that changing the energy sources from non-renewable to green energy is the best way of addressing climate change, while the opponents claim that it could impact the production cost of an industry and create negative ramifications for economic conditions. I believe that using alternative energy could be a long-term solution to environmental problems.