Men and women can never share the same responsibilities at home and in everyday life. Do you agree or disagree

Traditionally, men and women had separate roles to play in life. Men were considered bread winners and were expected to find a job and provide for their families while women were expected to be home makers. But does it have to be this way, or can all people engage in any activity they desire? In my view, the latter is more reasonable. To begin with, we need to acknowledge the fact that, biologically speaking, there are clear distinctions between the sexes which could make one more suitable than the other for certain tasks. For example, men are generally thought to be more muscular and powerful while women are commonly considered to have a higher emotional intelligence. This could mean that manual labor should be a male responsibility and females should engage in more emotionally engaging tasks. However, recent studies suggest that gender is a spectrum rather than black and white and the stereotypes do not apply to all. Considering this revelation, we should not expect all people to conform to the gender roles propagated by the society. In fact, in my opinion, rarely does the sex of a person determine what responsibilities they can shoulder. People, regardless of their gender, have certain characteristics and interests which makes them capable of completing certain tasks, be it mundane house chores such as cooking, cleaning, and ironing, or more engaging activities such as repairs and maintenance of the home appliances or raising a child. The same goes for any occupation; the gender of an applicant should not colour the judgement of the employer since their capabilities are seldom dependent on that factor. In conclusion, while responsibilities used to be shared based on the gender of individuals, I believe it no longer should be the case as gender is not an adequate identifier of one's talents and abilities, and people should be allowed to pursue their interests.