Some people believe that celebrating personal events is a waste of money. Others feel that these celebrations play an important role in the lives of individuals and in society as a whole. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Celebrating personal occasions such as birthdays and marriage anniversaries are just a waste of money some people claim, others, however, consider such occasions do have both personal and social advantages. The way I see it myself, is that it has a positive impact on persons and on societies. On one hand, the opponents defend their proposition by pointing out families priorities since there are bills had to be paid starting with the hydro and electricitiy and not ending with children's college fees. Thus, it does not make sense to spend more money on a birthday party or an anniversary while there are more essential financial demands had to be accomplished. Furthermore, life is becoming more demandable and everybody had to save some money for retirement, as they pretend. On the other hand, many people, however, have a totally different point of view where every person has the right to enjoy a cheerful break away from the stress of long working hours, also to get rid of the daily boring routine. Eventually, these individuals are going be more focused on their job resulting in increasing productivity at the end. So, such parties boost people's professional life and this in turn reflects positively on the society in general. A European study showed that cheerful events held either at home or at workplace have a remarkablly remarkable positive health consequences and on individuals' productivity and punctuality. To sum up, although it might be considered by some people to be an unreasonable way to spend money, celebrating personal occasions have many positive outcomes it improve individual's professional skills eventuallly contribute to social prosperity.