Advances in technology and automation have reduced the need for manual labour. (opinion) Therefore, working hours should be reduced. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Automation and technology have become hot buzzwords nowadays. It is often argued that job hours should decrease, as the demand for manual labour has decreased significantly because of the improvements in science and technology. This essay somewhat disagrees with this statement as it put the career of these employees at risk. To begin with, limiting the working hours of daily wage worker put them at the risk of earning less money. Because of the advancement in the research field, which have reached great heights, the demand for trained software operators has increased. Thus, it creates an environment of stress and pressure for this particular category of employees. These people face difficulties in their daily life's as their work is getting automated. While one who has received training in new technology has a lot of opportunities ahead. For Instance, a recent study showed that, in past few years, there has been a massive decrease in the salaries of these workers. Moreover, it is the skill which gets highly affected when the number of working hours decrease. They tend to lose the interaction with the machines. Thus, it creates a vulnerable situation for these people. It also hinders their learning ability and, thus, negatively impact their overall development. Also, there have been some incidents, when these workers have got injured at their workplace. To conclude, even if the need for labours have decreased but limiting the working timings is going to create an unpromising situation for them in terms of salary and skills.