It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

According to some, young individuals must learn to distinguish between ethical and unethical behaviour during their formative years. Although there is an agreement to impose consequences as a form of learning so that they can differentiate them, I firmly believe that punishment would be a mistake and disagree with the given statement. Firstly, we must know that children do not know many things. They tend to do something because of following people around them. Therefore, the parents' role is to teach by a good example. For instance, teach them to borrow others' goods politely and how to respect each other or older people. Instead of forcing children to learn under the pressure of punishment, it is better to set an easy-to-follow example without instilling fear in the children. In addition to providing direct demonstrations, parents and teachers must educate the children about the consequences of their actions. If they do the right thing, they will earn kindness. Conversely, if they do the wrong thing, they will harm themselves. Give simple illustrations such as common daily activities. For example, if they teach them to throw rubbish in the right place, the neighborhood will be clean and avoid disease. This will hopefully teach children to think before they act and take responsibility for themselves. There is no doubt that sometimes punishment has a deterrent effect. Yet, we cannot guarantee whether punishment is effective or not. There are two options: firstly, punishment can change the behaviour from bad to better. Secondly, there is a possibility that children are depressed and keep fear in themselves. Therefore, I think it would be better for us to teach them more gently in the hope that it will shape their good character in the future.