An increasing number of people are changing their careers. What are the reasons? Do you think it is positive or negative?

Job -hopping has been a growing trend in recent years, especially among the younger generations who no longer view doing the same job throughout their working life appealing. The causes for this trend are manifold, and I will discuss three the major reasons and elaborate on the danger of switching roles too frequently in this essay. Focusing on the underlying factors for changing careers, the most common and traditional is probably that people move from position to position for better payment, job advancement and more enjoyable working environments. It is unreasonable to persist on dead-end job that is beneath your skill level and offers low salaries. Apart from in search for better career prospects, finding a job of passion is also a major contributor to people ’s decision to move to another post. Considering that the majority of our life is spent working, it is only logical to ensure that our lifelong wellbeing via undertaking tasks that marry up with their interest and enthusiasm in a supportive working environment. However, role switching, sometimes, is not the choice of individuals but consequence of a shift in the market that could result in the bankruptcy of companies and the disappear of positions. This is evident during the Covid-19 pandemic when many traditional businesses have to shut down owing to problems caused by lockdown and their employees have no choice but to seek employment elsewhere. With regards to the benefits and drawbacks of job -hopping, people need to be cautious about the danger of changing jobs too quickly. On the bright side, when pursuing better opportunities proactively, people are likely gain what they expected such as better payment and fringe package, job promotion and job satisfaction. They can even further benefit from their rich experience of working in different organisations and with different people as they tend to be more open-minded, experienced and well-connected. However, such experience will become a liability when exceed a certain point. Those who have more turners in shorter period of time are likely to be labelled as job hoppers who lack commitment and employers tend to avoid recruiting such applicants. Experts have suggested that more than two shorter-than-two-year stints can tarnish your resume, even to an extend that the hiring manager would not even talk to you let alone shortlisting you. Excessively switching careers, therefore, is likely to diminish all the advantages mentioned above and lead to unemployment. In conclusion, although the incentives for people to hop between different careers are better outcomes of doing a certain job, this movement from one role to another is not necessarily beneficial, and when exceeding a balance point, people tend to end up jeopardising their employability.