Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

It is increasingly common for families to send their relatives to nursing homes rather than take care of them at home. This essay will discuss both the benefits and drawbacks that have resulted from this switch. To begin with the positives, one significant advantage is that care homes are often equipped with better facilities and tools to accommodate the needs of the elderly. For example, nursing homes do not usually have stairs, but for those which do, elevators or lifts can be installed. Therefore, the mobility problems which tend to appear among elderly people might not be worsened. Furthermore, staff working in care homes is usually professionally trained and capable of handling the demands of nursing home residents. Conversely, it is rare to find family members who possess these skills. Nevertheless, this switch does present some problems, the most obvious of which is a lack of loved ones around. The reason for this is that although friends and family relatives are allowed to visit residents of care homes, these visits can be on an occasional basis, thus making these residents feel lonely. This can also result in a greater risk of depression and having their immune systems weakened. In addition, elderly people in care homes tend to be surrounded by illness and death, which in turn decreases the level of happiness and triggers depression as a consequence. In conclusion, despite the benefits of well-equipped facilities and well-trained professionals that nursing homes can offer, it is important to consider the consequences of loneliness, lower happiness, and triggering depression that the elderly might experience.