Children’s education is expensive. In some countries, the government pay some of or all of the costs. Do the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

In the modern era, everything has become quite expensive and the education sector is one of them. It has become difficult these days for an individual to bear the study expenses alone and that is why at some places the authorities help the public, by funding the studies. Although the free education system has certain demerits, the advantages here are more significant. The below paragraphs will discuss both sides. On the one hand, there are a number of pros of government-sponsored schooling. Today, society comprises of both affluent and non-affluent sections, and if there are policies that help children irrespective of their financial status to gain knowledge, it will promote equality in the nation. For instance, with equal learning opportunities, kids will have a brighter future and they will not be forced to quit their studies because of the limited funds, which in turn will lower the crime rates. Additionally, the citizens will have more trust in the ministry and they will not be required to move to different places to find cheaper schools. Hence, it will benefit both, the government and society. Conversely, there can be certain disadvantages as well. For example, the public feels the money that is spent on funding education could be used in better ways for the nation like improving infrastructure. Moreover, when a country has free schooling, it attracts foreign students which can be problematic for the citizens as it can lower the opportunities for them. As a result, some people are against such policies. In conclusion, despite certain disadvantages, there are numerous benefits of free education and therefore, more countries should think about funding the education sector for a better literacy rate.