Being a celebrity – such as a famous film star or sports personality – brings problems as well as benefits. Do you think that being a celebrity brings more benefits or more problems?

It is true that when ambitious people follow their dreams, they achieve their goals at certain stages. In some cases, such individuals become internationally known and this may cause concern. However, I believe what they gain far outweighs the drawbacks. To begin with, there is a risk of privacy being invaded when people become famous. Looking at superstars or soccer players, it is clear that they never have the chance to be in public places without confronting an ocean of fans asking for their signature or taking pictures. Although at first it seems enjoyable to be recognized widely, it can be irritating or sometimes disturbing especially when a celebrity needs some peace and quiet. When renowned people are interviewed, they usually complain about their lack of privacy and this proves that such lifestyle can give rise to difficulties. On the other hand, from economic point of view, well-known public figures have the privilege of handsome salaries. They usually sign huge contracts with big advertising companies and this enables them to spend extravagantly. Therefore, they are never concerned about their account’s balance resulting in a sense of satisfaction in their life. For instance, most sports champions in my country own luxurious cars and mansions and even some of them have factories. In addition, being wealthy alongside with fame can offer opportunities like helping charities or joining international organizations to address global problems such as global warming or pollution. As a result, they feel happy to play their role in an international scale. In conclusion, although fame can cause more transparent life for celebrities, in my view, the disadvantages pale into insignificance compared to the benefits.