Some people think that in order to prevent illness and disease, governments should focus on reducing environmental pollution and housing problems. To what extent do you agree to disagree with this statement?

In the contemporary era, certain individuals argue that addressing environmental contamination and residential accommodation should be prioritized by authorities to prevent diseases. From my perspective, I strongly agree with this standpoint, further believing that education should be included. This following essay will support my viewpoint. It is undeniable that pollution and housing problems have been deteriorating humans’ well-being. In terms of ecosystem degradation, the deficiency of hygiene water, along with the poor air quality has constituted a higher risk of illnesses related to respiratory and digestive systems, namely bronchitis, sinusitis or digestive disorders. Additionally, the living environment is another major problem since a number of inhabitants have lived in slums or degraded houses where several fundamental needs, especially clean water, has not been met. This, consequently, triggers such serious diseases as diarrhea or dengue, affecting the overall health. Thus, if increasing concern and budget allocation from the government were put on improving the biological environment and accommodation, humans’ health would be enhanced. Besides the significance of these two elements above, propagating the danger of some illnesses as well as upgrading the health system also play crucial roles. To be more precise, not all proportions of the population have sufficient and comprehensive understanding about all kinds of diseases. Hence, launching such campaigns educating about the adverse effects of smoking or drinking alcohol may alter the people’s mindset, finally, lowering the number of cancer patients. In conclusion, I firmly believe that curbing ecological pollution and tackling housing problems can prevent widespread illnesses. Besides, education about the disease’s seriousness should also be concluded.