Children today spend more time watching television than they did in the past. Describe some advantages or disadvantages of television for children

Nowadays, there is no doubt that children want to watch television more than ever before. However, the act of children watching television also has advantages and disadvantages that people should consider properly. I will explain both of them in the next paragraphs. One of the benefits of television for children today is that there are a lot of added attractive images, sounds and motions in television programs. Therefore, when children see them, they can develop their worldview and improve their creative thinking further than only reading the textbooks. From my experience, when my son views TV shows for kids such as the life of animals, cartoons, then he has more creative questions and creates extensive imaginary stories to tell with his friends. This is a good thing for developing children ’s imagination. However, when children spend more time watching television, there will be many drawbacks on their health. One of the health issues is that it causes children ’s eye problems. As a result, children will suffer from nearsightedness or farsightedness or astigmatism, which will lead to so that them not seeing clearly at an early age. In my case, my nephew usually watches the small screen for over 8 hours every day, thus he was nearsighted from 6 years old. This is obviously not good for children like him. In a nutshell, watching television has both advantages and disadvantages for children. To leverage the benefits, I think parents should keep their eyes on monitoring the watching time of children so that children should watch television programs less than 2 hours every day and have breaks at intervals of every 15 minutes.