Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

Over the last few decades, the world population growth has increased rapidly, with urban areas being the most heavily affected. Overpopulation can put a strain on individuals, trying to get by, and aggravates pollution. Nonetheless, these issues can be overcome to a great extent if authorities and people make a concerted effort. With the advent of technology, governments have started to hastily develop urban areas with the view to augment the migration rate. However, this trend has proven to be problematic. Firstly, overpopulation has caused a rise in the amount of people choosing to inhabit urban areas, followed by a massive demand for accommodation: thus, in some particular areas, there are severe housing issues. Another major effect of overpopulation is the critical level of air pollution. As the number of dwellers increases, the use of transport services becomes more frequent among citizens, thereby leading to a rise in emissions, detrimental for the environment: many studies expose their direct correlation. In terms of solutions, I believe governments need to take responsibility for minimizing the extend of the problems. Authorities should develop rural zones by expanding the existing infrastructure, as well as creating additional job opportunities. When more job offers are given in the countryside rather than in cities, the migration process halts, relieving the burden on urban areas. Consequently, with proper management, the need for accommodation would be satiated. Another way for handling the situation, dependent on the people, is imposing strict laws on birth rates to control population growth. For instance, countries can adopt the Chinese one-child policy with the intention of putting extensive pollution under control. Although this may not serve as a final solution to the problem, it will reduce emissions rates in heavily populated areas. In conclusion, the serious impacts overpopulation has on the world are evident. However, with proper planning, governments and citizen can certainly tackle the problem.