In the last decade, there has been a great increase in the number and variety of online courses available to adults. This has been welcomed as a great opportunity by many students, however, other students see this courses as less effective than classroom teaching. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

It has been observed that in the past decade, the number and diversity of online courses accessible to adults have been surging high. Many students perceive this as an appreciable opportunity. However, others consider these subjects as less effective than learning in the hall. I strongly believe that the merits outweigh the demerits because of flexible study schedules, reduced cost-effectiveness First of all, online courses provide the opportunity to schedule classes at a suitable time. To be specific, studying via the internet allows the student to fix tutorials at a convenient time he deems fit, while attending to other essential activities. Secondly, the advent of technology makes e-learning less expensive. Such fields of study sometimes are offered free of charge, and where the students are required to pay any fee, it is usually subsidized. Thirdly, virtual classes allow for extended leisure periods, where the undergraduate takes time out to refresh himself, after long hours of using the computer. This could be by having a coffee drink, taking a nap, etc. Finally, more e-materials, like books, journals, and magazines are available to the user for a quick response to difficult home tasks, and also assist with gaining the requisite knowledge. However, taking part in distance learning negates the importance of student-teacher interaction. In other words, with electronic learning, the interest in face-to-face communication between the tutor and the tutee is lost. Moreover, practicals are the major component of classroom teaching. Theoretical knowledge of a course is enhanced always by hands-on activities. This is a drawback with virtual education. Also, the inability to do tasks in pairs or groups is a setback for online education, because individuals plan their schedules at their own pace, which is not the case with learning in the study hall. In conclusion, while there are merits of e-learning such as, the flexibility of course schedules, less cost-effectiveness, extended leisure period, and more available materials, however, it is profoundly beneficial to participate in lecture room. Thus, this should be encouraged among students.