Education in financial management should be mandatory component of the school program. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement, give reason and relevant example.

Some people believe that teaching students about the management of finance should be a compulsory subject in schools. I completely agree with this, as it will help students to invest wisely when they start earning, which will lead them to a prosperous future. If children are familiarized with the basic concepts of the financial world at an early age, they will get to know how to put their money to use in the best possible way, when they get into the professional world and start earning. Concepts like the value of compounding, various avenues for investment, risks of investing in certain market instruments, etc., can help these students make an informed decision while investing their hard-earned money. This will lead to a bright future, financially, for such individuals. For example, a high school in Shimla (India) gave an option to its students to either select a course on French language or Basics of Financial Management, as their fifth subject, apart from the four compulsory subjects. They were asked to continue with their choices for two consecutive years. Ten years later, it was noted, that students who had opted for the latter, were financially better placed compared to the former. In conclusion, early formal education on how to manage finance will result in students being more aware of the various options available for investment, which will subsequently result in their financial well-being.