Some people argue that the government should give every unemployed person a mobile phone and should make sure they have access to the internet. They believe this is the best way of using public money to reduce the problem of unemployment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think the government should give a mobile phone so that they can reduce the rate of unemployment. I strongly disagree with this statement as those can use it for the wrong purpose. This essay will discuss them. Receiving a mobile phone does not mean those who do not have jobs will use it to find a job. They might use it to do other things, such as chatting with friends and playing games. This action does not meet the need of the officials, resulting in a waste of taxes. On top of that, some countries give money to unemployed people. As a result, they may be unwilling to find works even if they get a mobile phone. Hence, receiving it cannot help people to desire to work. Moreover, some people may use it wrongly, such as selling drugs. Having access to the internet can help them to increase the number of customers that live in different regions and other countries. As a result, the percentage of drug-addicted people rise dramatically, leading to negative effects on citizens. For example, they may induce their children to buy it, making them addicted. After that, they want the drug so much that they can steal other people ’ money and commit a crime for getting it. Their society may be unsecure. You can clearly see that instead of reducing unemployed people, it can affect everyone negatively. All in all, unemployed people can use it in a way that is not involved with finding a job, so I think this suggestion cannot help to solve this problem directly.