Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While some people believe that the most vital environmental issue is the extinction of natural creatures, others suggest that there are many other serious issues that need immediate attention such as air pollution. From my point of view, I agree with the latter view and think that air pollution is the problem that needs to be fixed before any others. It is true to say that fauna and flora help in maintaining the balance of our Planet Earth. They built the diversity of the ecological system. In other words, the loss of animals and plants will break the chain of food and cause many problems. To illustrate, when predatory animals like lions and tigers disappear, it will lead to an uncontrollable increase in the number of herbivores. Unfortunately, this phenomenon will hurt farm yield as animals like deer, rabbits and pigs will become vermin and eat up farm produce. As a result, this will lead to a shortage of food all over the world. On the other hand, in my opinion, air pollution caused by human activities is an even bigger challenge. According to urbanization, there is an exponential increase in the number of vehicles on the roads which has reduced the air quality. Eventually, people are forced to inhale the polluted air which causes various lung diseases. Moreover, this problem does not affect only human health but also the lives of other living things. For example, many forms of birds and insects can no longer survive in the highly polluted urban areas. Obviously, air pollution is a bigger threat than the extinction of wildlife. In conclusion, although the preservation of rare animals and plants is important, I hold the opinion that maintaining the purity of the air is more crucial as clean air forms the basic necessities for living.