It is commonly believed that increasing the price of petrol is the best solution to alleviate the traffic pollution problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

It is often argued that the increase in the price of carbon fuel is the best method if we want to decrease the severity of air pollution in cities. On the one hand, cars indeed elicit a great amount of greenhouse and other toxic fumes into the atmosphere. Consequently, creating incentives for people to start using personal vehicles less and to choose other means of transportation would benefit the environment. This measure would also support technological advancements as corporations would invest in cars that require less fuel to operate. On the other hand, if you increase the price of petrol you cause the rise of prices for all goods that are transported by lorries including food. This would create an extra burden for the most vulnerable members of the society such as the elderly, families with many kids and people with disabilities. Furthermore, when the government concentrates its attention on fuel and vehicles it misses other important issues. For instance, why do people need to drive cars. Perhaps, the quality of the public transport is so poor that people do not have any other choice rather than to go by car. In this case, it would be beneficial to develop other types of public transport. In conclusion, while managing air pollution by increasing petrol prices is a fair solution, I believe that it has its disadvantages. In order to decrease the number of cars in the cities, governments should look for other strategies that would not harm poorer citizens.