Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level of sugar, which cause many health problems. Sugar products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree ?

Nowadays, people face with numerous health problems due to enormous consumption of high sugar foods and drinks. Therefore, some individuals believe that increasing price of products which contain sugar can reduce the number of sweet tooth consumers. In my opinion, I disagree with this statement because money is not the key solution while education is the better answer. First of all, rising price of products cannot be lessened the number of people consuming inappropriate amount of sugar because this target communities do not face with any financial situations. They have enough money to afford whatever they desire without even thinking twice of its value. To illustrate, in Thailand, almost of patients facing with health problems from overeating sugar come from the rich or the middle class family which are not concerning about spending money. Therefore, this method cannot solve this issue. Besides, it will bring more drawbacks to the poor who are not the main purpose. Moreover, in order to achieve the goal, it is necessary to provide enough essential information about how hazardous of consuming high level of sugar to the community. When people aware of the disadvantages on their own, they will lower the frequency of consuming the desserts. This behaviour changing can improve their healthy lifestyle little by little and in the end it will be an effective and sustainable solution for this matter. Therefore, giving accurate and appropriate health knowledge is better than multiplying the cost. In conclusion, personally I believe that increasing the cost of sugar products cannot be the answer for this matter because people tend to less consider about the money more than they desire. Therefore, the effective way is teaching them to aware of their health problems.