Many criminals re-offend after they have been punished. Why do some people continue to commit crimes after they have been punished, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

It is a fact that punishment cannot always stop criminals from committing more crimes. Several reasons might explain why these criminals break the law repeatedly and I believe that government can place these issues. There are several reasons why these criminals continue to violate the laws. The most important one is that they cannot find a job which can afford their daily life when they go back to society again. One of the reasons is they lack skills and knowledge, so many employers will not hire them. And the criminal records on their resume add difficulty to them finding a job. Thus, those people have to commit crimes again to survive. Another point I wish to make is that some feasible ways the government can try to deal with this problem. Primarily, the prison can open vocational training courses such as baking, car repairing and basic computer skills for criminals. Thus, criminals can find a job to maintain their life when they leave jails. For instance, most of Mainland China’s prisons open professional skill training courses to criminals. After finishing these courses, they will arrange to attend an internship with a salary. Therefore, if most criminals can get a job when they go back to society, they would not choose to break out rules again. To sum up everything that has been stated so far, I am trying to analyse the reasons. Also, I believe that these questions cannot deal with in the short term; however, if the government consists of applying these suggestions for a decade, these phenomena can be largely reduced.