It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teacher be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children,

There is a widely held agreement regarding the usage of punitive methods in nurturing children. However, I tend to find myself in strong agreement with those who believe children should be able to distinguish right from wrong in the early years of life. One explanation for why children should be taught ethical norms is due to the fact that the personality of humans forms in childhood. For instance, the result of psychological research shows that the self-subjective and the self-objective senses that are determinants in children's behaviour shape in the early years of life. Thus, by providing offspring with a proper environment and nurturing methods parents can ascertain their success in the future. Hence, punishment can be used to teach children to avoid misconduct behaviours. Moreover, the type of punishment which is used is of great importance. For instance, psychologists opine that not only can physical punishments bring about reverse effects but they can also lie at the root of serious mental issues in adulthood less confidence, anxiety and poor communication ability can be taken as examples. Therefore, punishment can be practical as long as it is used in a logical way, otherwise, it will backfire. On the other hand, some may argue that punishment should be abandoned thoroughly. It is contended that regardless of their type and time punitive approaches in child-rearing are harmful. Nevertheless, I refute them as, If experience punishment in childhood, children would be taught that they are responsible for their behaviours. In conclusion, It seems rational to accept that punishment can be operational in childbearing, whereas it can be destructive if used in the wrong way.