Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences.Others, however believe that there are better alternatives ways to reduce crime.Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Since a few years ago, many governments around the world are focused on improving the crime rate. Since some individuals believe that criminals should stay in prison for many more years, others think that applying other strategies to diminish crime could work. In my opinion, there are several projects that can be done to reduce crime without increasing prison sentences. On the one hand, staying longer in prison could help scare some potential criminals. For example, by sharing the new state of sentences too many people would think twice before committing a scam. The reason is that they would not be near to their relatives for many months. Also, more time away from society could avoid that the same person making the same bad decision twice or even more times. However, in many prisons, this change could involve monetary and space issues. Keeping people longer while receiving new criminals every year, would result in a higher criminal population after a few years. Then, more workers would be hired to develop activities such as cooking, safe-guarding and, doing laundry. In order to sustain those changes, jails would need more budget every year. On the other hand, applying other alternatives to society could be more productive. Some city areas needed more attention than others. Starting social responsibility programs in some schools would help to introduce youngsters to the concept of cause and consequence. For instance, those areas that have not shown a decreasing trend of crime are the target. Knowing the consequences of any type of it could change individuals minds. Moreover, some people do not know what could happen if they do something really bad. So, advertisements about sentences could reduce many crimes. In addition, creating special programs for criminal children is crucial. School tutoring and psychological help could represent an opportunity for them. Because they would have an option to make different decisions in the future. To conclude, more time away from the streets could be helpful to decrease the number of criminals trying to do the same bad things and could be used as an example to others. But, I believe that programs such as school tutors, information on streets and psychology attention could be more advantageous to reduce crime.