Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the number of museums that charge for entrance is more than those that are free. Though this policy leads to some revenue for museums, it may commodify the historical heritage. In my opinion, the advantages of this event outweigh its disadvantages. The main advantage of charging for admission is that the money received from people will be used for the costs of museums. Just like everywhere, museums also have expenses such as for the employees, to conserve the historical antiques and the like. Moreover, it will be used for museum security which is an essential job, that must be done, for such a place because the antiques which are being kept there are valuable ones that might lead the criminals irresistible to steal them. As a result, it is obvious that if museums take money for admission, it can advance its way of management to conserve the antiques which are there. On the other hand, charging for museums may cause commodifying historical heritage. When the value of a thing is measured only by its price, its intrinsic value will turn into a commodity. So, if museums charge for entrance they may forget their main responsibility which is conservation and acquaintance of antiques. The main reason to build museums is that historical heritages will be kept there for more studies, presenting them and showing people that our ancestor’s way of living. Therefore, this main responsibility should not be forgotten by charging for admission. All things considered, many galleries tend to take money for entrance and though this will help them with their expenses, it may lead museums to commodify the historical heritage. I believe that the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages.