In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

As we all know, more and more people are suffering from serious health conditions due to the high consumption of fast food. It is said that imposing a higher tax on this kind of food can solve this issue. However, I totally disagree with this statement. This essay will discuss the topic in detail and provide reasons for these disagreements. First and foremost, applying a higher tax on fast food is not necessary as it will affect the low-income population. These days, people have a hectic working life and they have very little time to cook at home. To illustrate, a working mother from a poor family who comes home late after work will be completely exhausted and decides to buy fast food as this kind of food is easily available and sometimes cheap. Thus, making the food more expensive will only burden low-income families. Another reason for the disagreement to imposing a higher tax on fast food is that this course of action is not workable for rich people. This is due to the fact that those who earn more money will not hesitate to buy anything despite the expensive prices. For example, most kids from rich families have desires for expensive things and their parents can afford to get them those items. Thus, expensive instant food will not affect these communities. To conclude, increasing the amount of tax on instant food will only have a marginal effect and mostly it affects the poor families, therefore, it is not really necessary to apply a higher tax. The government can work on better solutions to combat health issues in society.