These days, many people do their jobs at home by teleworking. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this method?

In the present century, telecommunication has assumed importance and grown in popularity due to the fast-paced changes of modern life. With the advent of technology, more and more people welcome the opportunities offered by remote jobs. This can bring about several implications on social and personal aspects that could be examined from both negative and positive views. On the plus side, one tremendous benefit that arises from teleworking is the reduction in traffic volume. This results in a dramatic drop in air and noise pollution accordingly. On the economic scale, on the other hand, working remotely can be considered as an economical and cost-effective method, eliminating the need to spend a lot of money on maintaining workplaces, commuting, and even formal clothes. Last but not least, telecommuters would bear the advantage of saving time, thus allocating the extra time on more constructive tasks like learning a new language instead of being stuck in traffic jams. Turning to the other side of the issue, this method of working can exert far-reaching effects on the mental and physical health of every individual. For instance, it seems to be hard for a person to draw a distinction between private and social life, eventually spending more time doing tasks than merely unwinding. Additionally, managers have expressed concern about not being able to maintain discipline and order between the members of staff. The example can be explicitly demonstrated in the staff who are likely to shirk their responsibilities if not supervised. To sum up, new methods of working, in particular teleworking, have appeared to facilitate the working process as they dislodge the conventional ways. However, there are concerns about the trend that could be addressed if the situation is observed and followed appropriately.