Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind the bars. To what extent do you agree?

Some people take a view that the government should send a selected group of prisoners to do the mandatory community work instead of keeping them in prisons. In my opinion, it could be a decent practice and one of the possible solutions to the convict's rehabilitation. Others who oppose this practice argue that individuals should suffer for their crimes and spend their sentences under the harsh conditions in the cell. Furthermore, there is an opinion that using mandatory work might be considered as a form of forced labour or modern slavery as it is often difficult to make sure that people actually volunteer to participate in such work. Therefore, such practices should be avoided. However, despite all arguments mentioned above, there are certain advantages of community work that could not be ignored. One of the key problems that the government and society face when it comes to crime is the high rates of recidivism, meaning that the majority of convicts violate the law again after the release. One of the root causes of this problem is the stigma associated with prison. By choosing other forms of punishment for the ones who have committed light and non-violent crimes governments could facilitate the alleviation of the recidivism problem and prevent people from becoming life-long criminals. To conclude, although there is an opinion that the prison should be the only acceptable way of punishment because it is strict and protect people from slavery, I argue that community work is important if we want to decrease the recidivism rate.